Mission: to advance the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting medical education and health initiatives.

Medical student and physician leaders to be honored

The Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation will honor a medical student and several Wisconsin physicians for their leadership and commitment to health and the future of medicine in Wisconsin during the Foundation’s Fundraising Dinner and Silent Auction on April 5.

Medical student Sierra Tackett will be presented with the prestigious Wisconsin Medical Society Presidential Scholar Award as a student who exemplifies the attributes, skills and desire to become a medical leader in Wisconsin.

Ritu Bhatnagar, MD, of UnityPoint Health-Meriter NewStart, will receive the 2019 Superhero of Medicine Award for tirelessly going above and beyond to improve access to care for the underserved and for her leadership related to opioid prescribing guidelines and education toward cohesive treatment approaches. Gurdesh Bedi, MD, of St. Croix Regional Medical Center, will receive the Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD, Young Physician Leadership Award for his exemplary commitment to his patients, community and the profession of medicine.

A new award, sponsored by WPS Health Solutions, will also be presented this year. Matthew Crowe, MD, with SSM Health, will receive the Champion of Veterans’ Health Award for his work in helping to develop the initial procedures for getting the first Badger Honor Flight off the ground and for his volunteer service as medical flight team leader for several years.

In addition to these awards, the evening will include special recognition of Donald R. Gore, MD, an orthopedic specialist who retired in 2012 after a long career with Sheboygan Orthopaedic Associates. Doctor Gore and his late wife Jacquelyn established the Robert “Jason” Gore Scholarship Fund with the Foundation in 2007 in memory of their grandson who was killed in Iraq. Several of the medical students who have benefited from the scholarship will be in attendance to help honor Dr. Gore and his grandson’s memory.

Join us on April 5 to learn more about these inspiring physician leaders and an outstanding medical student who is already making her mark. Individual tickets may be purchased online. Hurry! The deadline is March 18. Email Eileen Wilson or call her at 608.442.3722 with any questions.